This is the JRM Lab web site.
If you can read this, your browser is unable to properly import or use
Cascading Style Sheets (CSS). Please upgrade to a more modern browser.

The faculty, staff, post-docs and students of the JRM Lab.
We also have a succinct Phone & E-Mail directory, and a personnel search.

Faculty

 
ben-itzhak   Itzik Ben-Itzhak , University Distinguished Professor
CW306 : 785-532-1636 : ibi@foophys.ksu.edu
  • Research interests:
    • Imaging the dissociation and ionization of molecular ions by ultrashort intense laser pulses
    • Ionization and break-up of molecules by both fast and slow highly-charged ions.
    • Identifying and determining the lifetimes of metastable molecular states.
Blaga   Cosmin Blaga , Assistant Professor
CW332 : 785-532-1466 : blaga@foophys.ksu.edu
  • Research interests:
    • Strong field ionization
    • High harmonic generation
carnes   Kevin Carnes , Associate Director for Operations, Research Professor
CW029 : 785-532-2662 : kdc@foophys.ksu.edu
  • Responsible for overall operation of the laboratory systems.
  • Schedules use of laser and accelerator systems.
  • Supervises operation of JRML computer systems and electronics shop.
  • Research interest:
    • Ionization and break-up of molecules by fast and slow highly-charged ions and by ultrashort intense laser pulses.
cocke   Lew Cocke , Emeritus Distinguished Professor; former JRM Director
CW213 : 785-532-1609 : cocke@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/cocke
  • Research interests:
    • Momentum mapping of reaction products from photon induced ionization studied with synchrotron radiation and intense laser pulses.
depaola  

Brett DePaola , Professor, Department Head
CW333 : 785-532-1623 : depaola@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/depaola

  • Research interests:
    • Electron capture from Rydberg targets using both high velocity and low velocity ions.
    • Studying binary encounter electrons as a means of obtaining Compton profiles of composite systems such as bucky balls and molecules.
esry  

Brett Esry , Laboratory Director; Ernest & Lillian Chapin Professor; University Distinguished Professor
CW325 : 785-532-1620 : esry@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/esry/

  • Responsible for the overall viability of the laboratory.
  • Research interests:
    • Ultracold three-body collisions
    • Intense laser-matter interactions
Fehrenbach  

Charles Fehrenbach, Research Assistant Professor
CW017 : 785-532-3461 : macf@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/macf

  • Responsible for PULSAR and Low-Energy Ion Collision Facilities.
  • Laboratory safety officer.
  • Responsible for user support and coordination.
  • Coordinates machine shop jobs for the JRML.
Greenman  

Loren Greenman,Assistant Professor
CW308 : 785-532-0846 : lgreenman@foophys.ksu.edu :

  • Research interests:
    • Theoretical Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
Kumarappan   Vinod Kumarappan , Associate Professor
CW328 : 785-532-3415 : vinod@foophys.ksu.edu
  • Research interests:
    • Ultrafast processes in aligned molecules
lin  

Chii-Dong Lin , Associate Director for Theoretical Research,
University Distinguished Professor
CW230 : 785-532-1617 : cdlin@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/cdlin

  • Responsible for coordinating the the JRML AMO theory research program.
  • Research interests:
    • Attosecond physics
    • Laser-atom and laser-molecule interactions
    • Dynamic chemical imaging with infrared lasers
    • High-order harmonic generation for molecules
    • Quantum chaos in helium atom
p richard   Pat Richard, Emeritus Distinguished Professor; former JRM Director
----- : ----- : richard@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Faculty/richard.html
  • Research interests:
    • Study of single, double and multiwalled carbon nanotubes by electron time-of-flight methods using femtosecond pump-probe laser beams.
Daniel Rolles   Daniel Rolles, Associate Professor
CW327 : 785-532-1615 : rolles@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Faculty/rolles.html
  • Research interests:
    • Experimental AMO Physics
    • Ultrafast X-Ray Science
Artem Rudenko   Artem Rudenko, Associate Director for Research, Professor
CW331 : 785-532-4470 : rudenko@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Faculty/rudenko.html
  • Responsible for the experimental research program.
  • Research interests:
    • Experimental AMO Physics
thumm  

Uwe Thumm , University Distinguished Professor
CW212 : 785-532-1613 : thumm@foophys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/thumm

  • Research interests:
    • Theory and numerical modeling of interactions of electrons, ions, and intense ultrashort pulses of light with atoms, molecules, clusters, and solid surfaces. Recent research projects are:
      • Time-resolved dissociative ionization of small molecules
      • Attosecond time-resolved photoemission
      • High harmonic generation from gaseous atoms and solids
 

 

Staff

 
aikens  

Chris Aikens, Research Technologist
CW007 : 785-532-2655 : claikens@phys.ksu.edu

  • Design and construction of research equipment for the JRM laboratory
  • Handles vacuum components in JRM lab
chainey  

Scott Chainey, Electronics Technologist
CW005 : 785-532-2659 : schainey@phys.ksu.edu

  • Responsible for design, fabrication, and maintenance of specialized JRML electronics.
rankin  

Justin Millette, Assistant Scientist
CW006 : 785-532-2654 : jam4444@phys.ksu.edu

  • Assists with operation and maintenance of laser systems.
  • Assists with set up and maintenance of high vacuum systems and beamlines.
needham  

Vince Needham, Assistant Scientist
CW028 : 785-532-2670 (JRM)
CW039 : 785-532-6461 (PCSC)
vneedham@phys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Vince/

  • Data acquisition, system and control programming.
  • Provides PC workstation, networking and Web support.
  • Also part of the Physics Computing Support Center (PCSC)
 

 

Research Associates & Visitors

 
Abdul  

Abdul Rahman Abid, Research Associate
--- : --- : abdul@foophys.ksu.edu

Surjendu  

Surjendu Bhattacharyya, Research Associate
CW302 : 785-532-2666 : surjendu@foophys.ksu.edu

Hoang  

Hung Hoang, Research Associate
CW316 : 785-532-1642 : hunghv@foophys.ksu.edu

  • Theoretical AMO Physics
  • Working with Uwe Thumm
Anton  

Anton Khmelnitskiy, Research Associate
CW301 : 785-532-2665 : anhmel@phys.ksu.edu

Lam  

Huynh Lam, Research Associate
CW034 : 785-532-1643 : huynhlam@phys.ksu.edu

Travis  

Travis Severt, Research Associate
CW305 : 785-532-2669 : tsevert@phys.ksu.edu

Takemoto  

Norio Takemoto, Research Associate
CW324 : 785-532-5987 : norio@foophys.ksu.edu

  • Strong-field theoretical physics
  • Working with Brett Esry
Enliang  

Enliang Wang, Research Associate
CW302 : 785-532-2666 : enliang@foophys.ksu.edu

  • Ultrafast high-intensity laser interactions
  • Working with Artem Rudenko
Wang  

Su-Ju Wang, Post-Doctoral Fellow
CW231 : 785-532-6823 : sjwang@phys.ksu.edu

  • Theoretical strong field physics
  • Working with CD Lin
Isaac  

Isaac Yuen, Research Associate
CW304 : 785-532-3384 : iyuen@foophys.ksu.edu

Xi  

Xi Zhao, Visitor
CW229 : 785-532-1635 : zhaoxi719@foophys.ksu.edu

  • Theoretical AMO Physics
  • Working with CD Lin
 

 

Graduate Students

 
Kurtis  

Kurtis Borne, Graduate Research Assistant
CW301 : 785-532-2665 : kborne@phys.ksu.edu

Keyu  

Keyu Chen, Graduate Research Assistant
CW302 : 785-532-1643 : keyu@phys.ksu.edu

Anna  

Anna Faretty, Graduate Research Assistant
CWxxx : 785-532-xxxx : faretty@phys.ksu.edu

Sajed  

Sajed Hosseini-Zavareh, Graduate Research Assistant
CW132 : 785-532-2657 : sajed1@phys.ksu.edu :

Lindsay  

Lindsay Hutcherson, Graduate Research Assistant
CW132 : 785-532-2657 : lindshutch94@phys.ksu.edu :

Naoki  

Naoki Iwamoto, Graduate Research Assistant
CW305 : 785-532-2669 : niwaomoto@phys.ksu.edu :

Pavan  

Pavan Muddukrishna, Graduate Research Assistant
CW124 : 785-532-2653 : pmuddukrishna@phys.ksu.edu

Eric  

Eric Mullins, Graduate Research Assistant
CW124 : 785-532-2653 : mullinsel@phys.ksu.edu

Zane  

Zane Phelps, Graduate Research Assistant
CW301 : 785-532-2665 : zdphelps@phys.ksu.edu

Erfan  

Erfan Saydanzad, Graduate Research Assistant
CW316 : 785-532-3384 : e.saydanzad@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Uwe Thumm
  • Theoretical AMO Physics
John  

John Searles, Graduate Research Assistant
CW302 : 785-532-1643 : jisearle@phys.ksu.edu

Travis  

Hongyu Shi, Graduate Research Assistant
CW124 : 785-532-2653 : shi@phys.ksu.edu

Dustin  

Dustin Ursrey, Graduate Research Assistant
CW304 : 785-532-3384 : dursrey@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Brett Esry
  • Theoretical AMO Physics
Anbu  

Anbu Venkatachalam, Graduate Research Assistant
CW034 : 785-532-1643 : anbu@phys.ksu.edu

Tomthin  

Tomthin Nganba Wangjam, Graduate Research Assistant
CW301 : 785-532-2665 : wangjam@phys.ksu.edu

Farzaneh  

Farzaneh Ziaee, Graduate Research Assistant
CW301 : 785-532-2665 : ziaee@phys.ksu.edu

 

Last updated on Wednesday, 08-Sep-2021