This is the JRM Lab web site.
If you can read this, your browser is unable to properly import or use
Cascading Style Sheets (CSS). Please upgrade to a more modern browser.

The faculty, staff, post-docs and students of the JRM Lab.
We also have a succinct Phone & E-Mail directory, and a personnel search.

Faculty

 
ben-itzhak   Itzik Ben-Itzhak , Laboratory Director, University Distinguished Professor
CW306 : 785-532-1636 : ibi@phys.ksu.edu
  • Responsible for the overall viability of the laboratory.
  • Responsible for coordinating the planning and the execution of the JRML experimental research program.
  • Research interests:
    • Imaging the dissociation and ionization of molecular ions by ultrashort intense laser pulses
    • Ionization and break-up of molecules by both fast and slow highly-charged ions.
    • Identifying and determining the lifetimes of metastable molecular states.
carnes   Kevin Carnes , Associate Director for Operations, Research Professor
CW029 : 785-532-2662 : kdc@phys.ksu.edu
  • Responsible for overall operation of the laboratory accelerator systems.
  • Schedules use of laser and accelerator systems.
  • Supervises operation of JRML computer systems and electronics shop.
  • Research interest:
    • Ionization and break-up of molecules by fast and slow highly-charged ions and by ultrashort intense laser pulses.
Chang   Zenghu Chang , Adjunct Professor
----- : 407-823-4442 : Zenghu.Chang@ucf.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/chang
cocke   Lew Cocke , Emeritus Distinguished Professor; former JRM Director
CW213 : 785-532-1609 : cocke@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/cocke
  • Research interests:
    • Momentum mapping of reaction products from photon induced ionization studied with synchrotron radiation and intense laser pulses.
cocke   Kristan Corwin , Associate Professor
CW332 : 785-532-1663 : corwin@phys.ksu.edu
  • Research interests:
    • Optical frequency metrology using ultrafast lasers
    • Supercontinuum generation
depaola  

Brett DePaola , Professor
CW333 : 785-532-1623 : depaola@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/depaola

  • Research interests:
    • Electron capture from Rydberg targets using both high velocity and low velocity ions.
    • Studying binary encounter electrons as a means of obtaining Compton profiles of composite systems such as bucky balls and molecules.
esry  

Brett Esry , Associate Director for Research; Ernest & Lillian Chapin Professor; University Distinguished Professor
CW325 : 785-532-1620 : esry@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/esry/

  • Research interests:
    • Ultracold three-body collisions
    • Intense laser-matter interactions
Fehrenbach  

Charles Fehrenbach, Assistant Research Professor
CW017 : 785-532-3461 : macf@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/macf

  • Responsible for PULSAR and Low-Energy Ion Collision Facilities.
  • Laboratory safety officer.
  • Responsible for user support and coordination.
  • Coordinates machine shop jobs for the JRML.
Kumarappan   Vinod Kumarappan , Associate Professor
CW328 : 785-532-3415 : vinod@phys.ksu.edu
  • Research interests:
    • Ultrafast processes in aligned molecules

Le
 


Anh Thu Le
, Research Assistant Professor
CW229 : 785-532-1635 : atle@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/atle/

  • Research interests:
    • Theoretical AMO physics
    • Intense laser-matter interaction
    • General three-body collisions theory
lin  

Chii-Dong Lin , Associate Director for Theoretical Research,
University Distinguished Professor
CW230 : 785-532-1617 : cdlin@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/cdlin

  • Responsible for coordinating the the JRML AMO theory research program.
  • Research interests:
    • Attosecond physics
    • Laser-atom and laser-molecule interactions
    • Dynamic chemical imaging with infrared lasers
    • High-order harmonic generation for molecules
    • Quantum chaos in helium atom
p richard   Pat Richard, Emeritus Distinguished Professor; former JRM Director
----- : ----- : richard@phys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Faculty/richard.html
  • Research interests:
    • Study of single, double and multiwalled carbon nanotubes by electron time-of-flight methods using femtosecond pump-probe laser beams.
Daniel Rolles   Daniel Rolles, Assistant Professor
CW327 : 785-532-1615 : rolles@phys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Faculty/rolles.html
  • Research interests:
    • Experimental AMO Physics
    • Ultrafast X-Ray Science
Artem Rudenko   Artem Rudenko, Assistant Professor
CW331 : 785-532-4470 : rudenko@phys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Faculty/rudenko.html
  • Research interests:
    • Experimental AMO Physics
thumm  

Uwe Thumm , Professor
CW212 : 785-532-1613 : thumm@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/thumm

  • Research interests:
    • Modeling, theory, and numerical computation of interactions between electrons, ions, and intense laser light with atoms, molecules, clusters, and solid surfaces.
Trallero  

Carlos Trallero , Assistant Professor
CW308 : 785-532-0846 : trallero@phys.ksu.edu

  • Research interests:
    • Strong field molecular spectroscopy
    • Higher-order harmonic generation
    • Attosecond physics
    • Coherent quantum control
Washburn  

Brian Washburn, Associate Professor
CW036B : 785-532-2263 : washburn@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.phys.ksu.edu/personal/washburn/

  • Research interests:
    • Nonlinear fiber optics
    • Optical frequency metrology
    • Computational physics
    • Optically pumped gas filled photonic crystal fiber lasers
    • Ultrafast spectroscopy
Zouros  

Theo Zouros , Adjunct Professor
tzouros@physics.uoc.gr :
http://www.physics.uoc.gr/~tzouros/

  • Currently at the University of Crete.
  • Research interests:
    • Ion-atom and ion-electron collisions
    • Auger electron spectroscopy
    • Physics of highly charged ions
    • Projectile-electron-Target-electron interactions
    • Ion surface interactions
 

 

Staff

 
chainey  

Scott Chainey, Electronics Technologist
CW005 : 785-532-2659 : schainey@phys.ksu.edu

  • Responsible for design, fabrication, and maintenance of specialized JRML electronics.
needham  

Vince Needham, Assistant Scientist
CW028 : 785-532-2670 : vneedham@phys.ksu.edu :
http://jrm.phys.ksu.edu/Vince/

  • Data acquisition, system and control programming.
  • Provides PC workstation, networking and Web support.
  • Also part of the Physics Computing Support Center (PCSC)
rankin  

Al Rankin, Assistant Scientist
CW007 : 785-532-2654 : alrankin@phys.ksu.edu :
http://www.a3skywarrior.com/

  • Assists with operation and maintenance of laser systems.
  • Assists with set up and maintenance of high vacuum systems and beamlines.
  • Responsible for specialized welding needs of high vacuum systems.
  • CAD design of special equipment, and shop drawings for manufacture or bid.
wells  

Mike Wells, Research Technologist
CW004 : 785-532-2655 : mwells@phys.ksu.edu

  • Designs and fabricates specialized experimental equipment.
  • Assists with set up and maintenance of high vacuum systems.
 

 

Research Associates & Visitors

 
Jin  

Cheng Jin, Research Associate
CW229 : 785-532-1635 : cjin@phys.ksu.edu

  • Theoretical AMO Physics
  • Working with CD Lin
Qing Liao  

Qing Liao, Research Associate
CW316 : 785-532-1642 : liaoqing@phys.ksu.edu

  • Theoretical AMO physics
  • Working with Uwe Thumm
Pearson  

Lee Pearson, Research Associate
CW302 : 785-532-2666 : wpearson@phys.ksu.edu

Ren  

Xiaoming Ren, Research Associate
CW302 : 785-532-2666 : rxm@phys.ksu.edu

Wang  

Xu Wang, Research Associate
CW231 : 785-532-6823 : xuwang@phys.ksu.edu

  • Theoretical AMO Physics
  • Working with CD Lin
Wang  

Yujun Wang, Research Associate
CW304 : 785-532-3384 : yujunw@phys.ksu.edu

 

 

Graduate Students

 
Abulikemu  

Utuq Ablikim, Graduate Research Assistant
CW305 : 785-532-2669 : utuq@phys.ksu.edu

Berry  

Ben Berry, Graduate Research Assistant
CW305 : 785-532-2669 : bberry@phys.ksu.edu

Cao  

Wei Cao, Graduate Research Assistant
CW021 : 785-532-2658 : caowei@phys.ksu.edu

Neda  

Neda Dadashzadeh, Graduate Teaching Assistant
CW034 : 785-532-1643 : neda@phys.ksu.edu

Mary  

Mary Harner, Graduate Research Assistant
CW132 : 785-532-2657 : maryharner@phys.ksu.edu :

Jochim  

Bethany Jochim, Graduate Research Assistant
CW305 : 785-532-2669 : bjochim@phys.ksu.edu :

Kadel  

Rajesh Kadel, Graduate Research Assistant
CW132 : 785-532-2657 : rkadel@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Brian Washburn
  • Optically pumped gas filled photonic crystal fiber lasers
Liu  

Jianxiong Li, Graduate Research Assistant
CW316 : 785-532-1642 : jasonlee@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Uwe Thumm
  • Theoretical AMO Physics
Liu  

Aihua Liu, Graduate Research Assistant
CW021 : 785-532-2658 : iwaa@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Uwe Thumm
  • Theoretical AMO Physics
Matniyaz  

Turghun Matniyaz, Graduate Teaching Assistant
CW034 : 785-532-1643 : turghun@phys.ksu.edu

Malakar  

Yubaraj Malakar, Graduate Research Assistant
CW033 : 785-532-5768 : yubarajm@phys.ksu.edu

Makhija  

Varun Makhija, Graduate Research Assistant
CW301 : 785-532-2665 : vmakhija@phys.ksu.edu

Jeff  

Jeff Powell, Graduate Research Assistant
CW324 : 785-532-5987 : powellj@phys.ksu.edu

Brandon  

Brandon Rigsbee, Graduate Research Assistant
CW304 : 785-532-3384 : brigsbee@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Brett Esry
  • Theoretical AMO Physics
Travis  

Travis Severt, Graduate Research Assistant
CW305 : 785-532-2669 : tsevert@phys.ksu.edu

Travis  

Adam Summers, Graduate Research Assistant
CW124 : 785-532-2653 : asummers@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Carlos Trallero
  • Ultrafast optics; ultrafast processes in nano systems
Timilsina  

Pratap Timilsina, Graduate Research Assistant
CW034 : 785-532-2653 : pratap16@phys.ksu.edu

Jan  

Jan Tross, Graduate Research Assistant
CW301 : 785-532-2665 : tross@phys.ksu.edu

Aram  

Aram Vajdi, Graduate Research Assistant
CW034 : 785-532-1643 : avajdi@phys.ksu.edu

Chen Chen  

Chen Chen Wang, Graduate Research Assistant
CW132 : 785-532-2657 : ccwang@phys.ksu.edu

Wei  

Hui Wei, Graduate Research Assistant
CW231 : 785-532-6823 : huiwei@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: CD Lin
  • AMO Theory
Nandana  

Nandana Weliweriya-Liyanage, Graduate Research Assistant
CW034: 785-532-1643 : nandee122@phys.ksu.edu

Derrek  

Derrek Wilson, Graduate Research Assistant
CW124: 785-532-2653 : derrekw@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Carlos Trallero
  • Ultrafast optics; ultrafast processes in condensed matter
Derrek  

Kushan Weerasinghe, Graduate Research Assistant
CW034: 785-532-1643 : kweera@phys.ksu.edu

Shun  

Shun Wu, Graduate Research Assistant
CW132 : 785-532-2657 : wshun@phys.ksu.edu

Youliang  

Youliang Yu, Graduate Research Assistant
CW304 : 785-532-3384 : youliang@phys.ksu.edu

Zeng  

Shuo Zeng, Graduate Research Assistant
CW316 : 785-532-1642 : shuo@phys.ksu.edu

  • Major Professor: Brett Esry
  • Theoretical ion-atom collision physics
Stefan  

Stefan Zigo, Graduate Teaching Assistant
CW021 : 785-532-2658 : szigo@phys.ksu.edu

Zohrabi  

Mohammad Zohrabi, Graduate Research Assistant
CW305 : 785-532-2669 : mza@phys.ksu.edu

 

Last updated on Monday, 15-Sep-2014